Martin Necas of the Carolina Hurricanes was one of 14 restricted free agents who filed for salary arbitration July 5, according to the NHL Players' Association.

The 25-year-old forward had 53 points (24 goals, 29 assists) in 77 regular-season games last season, and had nine points (four goals, five assists) in 11 Stanley Cup Playoff games.

Notable players who filed include defenseman Ryan Lindgren (New York Rangers) and forward Kirill Marchenko (Columbus Blue Jackets).

Salary arbitration hearings are scheduled to be held from July 20-Aug. 4. A player can sign a contract with his current team any time before his hearing.

Beck Malenstyn and Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen (Buffalo Sabres), Jack Drury (Carolina Hurricanes), Jake Christiansen and Jet Greaves (Columbus Blue Jackets), Joe Veleno (Detroit Red Wings), Ty Emberson (San Jose Sharks), J.J. Moser (Tampa Bay Lightning) and Connor Dewar (Toronto Maple Leafs) each signed before his hearing.

Last offseason, 22 restricted free agents filed for salary arbitration. Goalies Jeremy Swayman (Boston Bruins) and Ilya Samsonov (Maple Leafs), and forward Philipp Kurashev (Chicago Blackhawks) were the only players awarded a contract by an independent arbitrator following their hearings.

Here is the list of players who filed for salary arbitration (hearing dates have not been announced):

Buffalo Sabres
Beck Malenstyn, F (signed July 23)
Ukko-Pekka Luukkonen, G (signed July 24)

Carolina Hurricanes
Jack Drury, F (signed July 17)
Martin Necas, F

Columbus Blue Jackets
Jake Christiansen, D (signed July 10)
Jet Greaves, G (signed July 13)
Kirill Marchenko, F

Detroit Red Wings
Joe Veleno, F (signed July 20)

Nashville Predators
Spencer Stastney, D

New York Islanders
Oliver Wahlstrom, F

New York Rangers
Ryan Lindgren, D

San Jose Sharks
Ty Emberson, D (signed July 11)

Tampa Bay Lightning
J.J. Moser, D (signed July 11)

Toronto Maple Leafs
Connor Dewar, F (signed July 23)

Related Content